The no pack move!

Standard

I finally got the key to the 2 bedroom apartment yesterday.  I suppose i should explain a few things first.  I live in an old school building.  It’s three floors and has 19 one or two bedroom apartments.  The building is a T shape and all the one bedroom apartments are in the leg of the T.  The two bedroom apartments are all across the top of the T and the main halls run across the back of the top of the T  At each end of each floor there are large stairways.  They’re large enough for a staircase going up and down side by side and there are huge landings on each floor with another landing between floors.  There are 3 huge windows on each landing with a smaller window over the stairs.  The landing between has two smaller high windows on the south and a good size window on the west.  All in all I think there are 10 windows of various sizes between the 4 landings. There’s a landing on 2, then one between 2 & 3, another large landing on 3, and then another small landing above the 3rd floor.  Lots of windows and they get massive sun.  When they remodeled the building in the middle 90’s they replaced most of the windows but they use plain glass windows instead of low-E glass so the sun is full spectrum.  The plants love it.  I have a “money tree” schefflera that is 8 foot tall.  I’m going to have to put a bag over the pot and tip it on its side to move it.  I will gradually be turning the landings and my end of the hall into jungles.  I rescued an unloved variegated schefflera from my second job yesterday.

Here’s a link to a pic.  The stairway that is mine is the one where the doorway is on the end of the building in the main pic.    http://www.metroplains.com/portfolio/view/id:143  Yeah, I know you can figure out where I live from the pic but so what.  I’m not paranoid about people knowing where I live.

I don’t have to pack anything because the building has 5 shopping carts.  I can literally take things out of the cupboards and closets and put it in a shopping cart and push it down the hall and put it away.  It’ll take longer to do but will be less work overall.  The hall is also carpeted so I can put big things on sliders and just push them down the hall.

I went out to storage yesterday and got a couple of things that were in the front that I know I want in the apartment.  I have a lawnmower I’ve been trying to sell all summer and I finally dropped the price enough that somebody is going to buy it today.  It’ll help to have some stuff out of the way so I can get to the mower and then after the mower is gone I’ll be able to get to the small tables and benches I need for plants out in the hall.  I think there are at least 3 if not 4 tables I can use for plants plus there’s another wire baker’s rack that can go in one of the windows.  Oh, and there’s a big giant pot out there I need for the plant that’s 8 feet tall.

I’m hoping that I can take enough out of this storage either by moving it to my apartment or selling it that I’ll make enough room that I can go get everything out of the storage in Liberal.  I couldn’t take everything with me when I moved the first time last year so I put a bunch of furniture in storage before I left.  Now that I know what all I need and have room for and SfB is still unemployed and mooching off somebody else and living in an RV so he’s not going to need it either so I’ll sell most of what I have down there.  Wanna buy some furniture?  I know there are bookcases and dressers and such in that storage.

I guess I need to hunt up a flash drive so I can move some pics from the desktop computer to the laptop so I can show off my plants.  I know I have 3 or 4 flash drives around here some where.

After I sell the mower today I’ll take the money and go get drapes for the bedroom.  Full 84 inch length drapes will come to the window sill.  I had to order a 120 inch tension rod to be able to put up the drapes.  The two bedroom windows measure 110 inches from the wall to the wall on the other side.  There is a little bit of woodwork right around the windows but it’s never had anything put up there and I don’t want to be the one that puts holes in it so I’ll pay $50 bucks for a damn tension rod.  It’ll be a pain in the ass to get it up there too.  The living room and the sewing room will just have the mini blinds.  At least they’re the aluminum ones and not the plastic ones.  I wouldn’t mind pretty sheers or something like that but it’s such a pain in the ass to put them up I probably won’t do it.

I am really looking forward to having the space and places to put shit away so I don’t have to live in a cluttered up mess anymore.  Getting the sewing room out of my bedroom is going to be fabulous.  There’s way more crap that goes in the sewing room so it’ll be the larger of the two bedrooms.

Time to get moving.

Leave a Reply

