Kind of freeing

Standard

So the ex-bff unfriended me on fb.  She also unfriended the rest of my family she had on her friends list.  <shrug>  I removed her from all other social media.

So, I’ve been unpacking and I keep running across junk “you just have to have.”  Mmmmm, no I didn’t just have to have it and now I don’t have to keep it either.  So far I tossed a really cheap “rubber chicken” and an ugly chicken teapot and I’m going to toss two really ugly, badly done embroidery pieces.  One says “so it’s not home sweet home, adjust’ and the other one says “killer dust bunnies live here.”  I have four other wall hangings that will probably end up in the trash.  Two of them are silk embroidery but the embroidery is the only part that’s well done.  The quilting is crappy and the binding is even worse.  She always said she was a “textile artist.”  Uhhh whatever.  She had to be a “textile artist” because that is better than just being a quilter.  Whatever.  Her work never held a candle to mine.  I’m not bragging when I say that either.

It occurred to me that what ever I did she had to do it bigger and better.  It’s really tiring to have somebody always putting you down to make themselves feel better.  She “taught herself to read by age 4” so of course I couldn’t possibly be as smart as she is.  I used to just blow it off but after being there for a couple of months and listening to her “bigger and better” tales it really got old.  Especially when 90% of them are total fantasy anyway.

Oh, I almost forgot, one of the last status updates I saw from her on fb was gushing about what a wonderful anniversary they had.  After being there and knowing the things she’s told me over the years I about died laughing.  He’s had at least two long term affairs and actually got fired because of one of them.  She told me she changed the way she reacted to things and now he’s so much better than he was.  Uhhh, no, he’s the same old asshat he’s always been, you’re just deluding yourself for insurance and financial security. Whatever.

I know that at some point she will come to deeply regret this.  She’ll need major help and there won’t be anybody there.  She cut off her own family years ago and her ex-sister in law is disabled.  Her new “bff” lives in Chicago and has to ask permission to buy groceries.  Yeah, she’ll get a lot of help from her.

Leave a Reply

